The election of a chairman for the Ashanti Regional branch of the NPP ended in a landslide victory for the young party philanthropist, Bernard Antwi Boasiako, over his older and more politically experienced opponent, Kwame Osei Prempeh, a former MP for Nsuta-Kwamang-Beposo, last Saturday, reports Kwadwo Baffoe Donkor from Kumasi. Antwi Boasiako, also known as Chairman Wontumi, polled 559 votes, as against 209 by Mr Osei Prempeh, to win the much coveted regional chairmanship of the party. One ballot was rejected.

In all, 769 delegates from 44 out of the 47 constituencies in the region voted. Three constituencies where the party is yet to hold constituency elections could not take part in the regional congress. They are Atwima Kwanwoma, Ejisu and Nsuta Kwamang-Beposo. Even before the election got underway, it was obvious from the cheers received by the candidates when they were introduced that it was a done deal for Chairman Wontumi.

Later, in his victory speech, Mr Antwi-Boasiako thanked all party members and supporters for their support and pledged to work assiduously to ensure victory for the party in 2016. Mr Osei-Prempeh, who conceded defeat, pledged his support to the party and the newly elected chairman and promised to work with him for the progress of the party.

The other newly elected executives are Abdul Raul, First Vice-Chairman; Madam Beatrice Serwaa Derkyi, Second Vice-Chairman; Samuel Pyne, Regional Secretary; Manaf Ibrahim, Assistant Secretary. The others are Regional Treasurer, Zeinabu Sallow; Regional Organiser, Kennedy Kwasi Kankam; Nana Ama Ampomaah, Regional Women’s Organiser; Regional Youth Organiser, Justin Kodua, and Nasara Coordinator for the Ashanti Region, Mohammed Abdul Hamid. source :